Shootout At High Noon Marathon: Giddy Up!!!

What does a cat on top of a horse have to do with the Shootout At High Noon Marathon or giddying up in general? Not a damn thing, but the picture is cute, and it’s my blog, so deal with it!

It’s joint marathon time again! That’s right gentle readers, Myself and Edgar from Between The Seats are partnering up yet again. This time we’re taking a journey through the Western, a favorite genre of mine. This review will work the same as our other joint marathons. Starting April 3rd we’ll both publish a review on one Sunday and a rebuttal the following Sunday. This does mean that my This Week In Cinema feature will be pushed back until Monday, but that shouldn’t be a big deal for any of you, I don’t think.

The marathon itself will be looking at eight films, handpicked by Edgar and myself. We’re steering clear of the works of Sergio Leone and John Ford for no reason other than their popularity means they have been covered to death and I have already reviewed a number of their films. This will also be an interesting marathon because unlike our past joint efforts I really don’t have an inkling of what Edgar will think of the films will watch. Either way, I’m looking forward to it, hopefully you are too. Here are the films and the order they will be watched in, and I hope to see all of you at the saloon starting this Sunday!

The Wild Bunch (Director’s Cut, 1969)
The Proposition (2005)
The Quick And The Dead (1995)
Joheunnom Nabbeunnom Isanghannom (The Good, The Bad, The Weird, 2008)
Pale Rider (1985)
The Shootist (1976)
Open Range (2003)
Ravenous (1999)

Cheers,
Bill

7 responses to “Shootout At High Noon Marathon: Giddy Up!!!

  1. With a pic like the one gracing your announcement of the marathon, I already have the upper hand…

  2. This is supposed to be man versus man, not man versus sissy-girly-man!

  3. I’m just lulling you into a false sense of security…

  4. Mark Middlemas

    Not High Noon? Otherwise very interesting choices. I am excited to read your reviews.
    I would also recommend The Outlaw Josey Wales…

  5. Already reviewed High Noon my good man, for this very site :)

  6. I’m curious to read both your responses to Open Range.

  7. I’m interested to hear Edgar’s, I already know what my response will be. :)

Leave a Reply

