Star Wars Marathon: Rebuttal: Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back (Special Edition, 1980)

For this edition of the Star Wars Marathon I wish I had something pithy to say here, but I really don’t!

You should know the drill by now, but just in case make sure to head over to Between The Seats and read what Edgar has to say so you know why I’m saying what I be saying.

I committed the fatal error of reading Edgar’s rebuttal for Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back before writing my own. That has made an already hard situation into the near impossible. What do you write in a rebuttal when you and the person you’re conversing with agree on everything and had not a single note of disconnect in your original reviews? That was my first problem, and trust me, things were bad enough when that was all I had to deal with. What do you write when your partner in crime has gone ahead and written a hilarious rebuttal, one that you can’t hope to top no matter how hard you try? Problem number two rears its ugly head, and I am at a loss.

This is my conundrum, my quandary, the state of my being as I sit here in front of my laptop drawing blanks when it comes to ideas for material. Alas, facts are facts, and the fact is that you have won this round Edgar. I couldn’t hope to come close to the originality or humor found in our fictional conversation, so I’m not going to even try. All I can do is let you know that I am happy that we were in agreement about Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back as much as we were. That’s really all I have, I agree with every point you made, and I have nothing to offer in return.

I know this wasn’t what our rebuttals were intended to be, but sometimes you have to go with the flow, and the flow in this case is heading towards a Canadian victory. Great work in your review Edgar and splendid work in your rebuttal, it was a blast getting owned by you as badly as I was in said rebuttal. For the time being your Taun-Taun’s own the battlefield, but with Star Wars: Episode VI – Return Of The Jedi I have an entirely new slew of AT-AT’s on their way to crush you once and for all!

You can read Edgar’s wonderful rebuttal at Between The Seats.

Cheers,
Bill

4 responses to “Star Wars Marathon: Rebuttal: Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back (Special Edition, 1980)

  1. I didn’t know what to write for my rebuttal so I whipped something up quickly. I don’t remember at what time exactly the article was posted but I can assure you I started writing it about 10 minutes before that.

  2. I’ll respond thusly!

  3. mcarteratthemovies

    Remind me never to diss a “Star Wars” film in your presence, Bill. The ensuing war will put the 100 Years’ War to shame.

  4. True dat, homie, true dat indeed!

Leave a Reply

