Podcast Review: Movie B.S.

movie bs

I’d like to think that I can smell out BS when it’s present!

Movie B.S.

The Gist

Jeff Bayer and Eric D. Snider are a pair of professional film critics who decided to get together a little over three years ago and form Movie B.S., the only podcast around according to them. Each week they release a new episode that clocks in anywhere from forty five minutes to an hour and a half in length. The podcast is structured around the pair offering reviews of new releases, thoughts on DVD/BD releases, sporadic interviews, in depth discussions of film based topics, and engaging with their listeners by asking a different film based question one episode and reading the listener supplied answers the next episode.

Episodes Listened To

#153: Olympus Has Fallen, Spring Breakers, Walter Salles, and more
#154: G.I. Joe: Retaliation and more
#155: Evil Dead, Roger Ebert, and more

My Thoughts

I first heard of Movie B.S. a year or so ago. At the time I knew little of Eric D. Snider, and nothing of Jeff Bayer, so despite all the praise for the podcast I didn’t exactly jump at the chance to check it out. Nevertheless I added Movie B.S. to the big list of film related podcasts that I need to work through for this column. Time went by and while I still didn’t get to know any of Mr. Bayer’s work, I was privy to Mr. Snider’s recent appearances on The Golden Briefcase. I enjoyed Mr. Snider on The Golden Briefcase, and that upped my level of interest in Movie B.S.. It finally came time for me to queue up Movie B.S. in my iTunes feed, and the results were better than I could have anticipated.

Right off the bat Movie B.S. accomplished something that very few podcasts can claim to have accomplished. Movie B.S. made me interested in discussions centered around new releases. Those who know me know that I’m not really a new release sort of guy. Usually I see fifteen new releases a year at most, I’m simply not driven to see new releases the way that a lot of cinephiles are. Because of this facet of my personality I’ve discarded a lot of decent film related podcasts. With the exception of Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo’s Film Reviews I don’t believe I listen to a single podcast that is dominated by reviews of new releases. Mark Kermode is one of my favorite critics, that’s why I always make time for his new release based podcast. After spending some time listening to Misters Bayer and Snider they have already rocketed into the company of my favorite critics, and that’s why I like Movie B.S. so much.

Eric D. Snider and Jeff Bayer know their stuff, and they know how to frame a discussion. A lot of film related podcasts suffer because the hosts lecture at one another (or the audience), or go overboard when directing humorous barbs at one another. The hosts of Movie B.S. tread a fine line where they come across as extremely knowledgeable, very jokey with one another, and yet they continue to engage the listener in discussion. I never felt left out of a discussion while listening to Misters Snider and Bayer discuss movies. When it comes to the film related podcasts I listen to being involved in the discussion is a very important aspect. I wasn’t being lectured at, or left behind in the dust of a million jokes. I felt very much like I was an involved participant in lively, and often funny, discussions about the world of film.

The structure of Movie B.S. isn’t anything special or unique. I don’t say that as a slight, but rather as a positive for the podcast. The strength of the podcast resides with the hosts, and for that reason the structure of Movie B.S. is simplified to allow the hosts to dominate every episode. There’s no fast talking to disguise a lack of content, the sound effects aren’t overdone, and not for a second does the podcast resort to dumbing things down for its audience. Intelligent discourse is the meal of the day in every episode of Movie B.S., and the meal that Misters Snider and Bayer provide is a filling one indeed.

One thing is for sure, my vote is to subscribe to Movie B.S.. This is easily one of the best film related podcasts out there, and it belongs among the ranks of The Gentlemen’s Guide To Midnite Cinema, The Treatment, A Damn Movie Podcast, and Battleship Pretension, to name but a few of the great film related podcasts in circulation. Eric D. Snider and Jeff Bayer are film critics I will have to be on the lookout for. Their podcast provides intelligent discussion of new releases, and other topics, that is also enjoyable. There’s no reason that any cinephile shouldn’t be listening to Movie B.S. on a weekly basis.

The Bottom Line

Subscribe

Cheers,
Bill

One response to “Podcast Review: Movie B.S.

  1. Pingback: Postulating & Pontificating: I Like What These People Have To Say! | Bill's Movie Emporium

Leave a Reply

