Podcast Review: Destroy All Movies

destroy all movies

If there’s one things I’m against it’s certainly the destruction of movies!

Destroy All Movies

The Gist

A pair of brothers, Richie and Jim, are the hosts of Destroy All Movies, although they are joined frequently by guest hosts. The episodes are usually released on a weekly basis, and clock in around an hour in length. The premise of the show is that of discussion of a lone movie, usually a newer film, along with the occasional bit of feedback or movie news. The podcast has been around for a few years now.

Episodes Listened To

#258: Argo
#261: Iron Man 3
#259: Life of Pi

My Thoughts

Right off the bat I found myself not clicking with Destroy All Movies. The format of their movie reviews are heavy on plot description. I greatly dislike plot description and that meant that for large chunks of Destroy All Movies I felt like I was wasting my time. Still, I can forgive unnecessary plot description if the discussions that spring forth from all the plot talk are interesting and engaging. I didn’t find that to be the case with the discussions that made up Destroy All Movies, and that’s why I’m at a loss for positives to jot down about the podcast.

I’m probably not the demographic for Destroy All Movies. The disconnect between myself and the hosts was great, and in every way the podcast was what I don’t look for in my film related podcasts. Some elements of the podcast I can’t forgive, such as the racist “speak in an Indian” voice s shtick that permeates the Life of Pi episode. There’s a joke, then there’s attempting to make a racist joke play that never plays because it’s racist and not funny in the slightest.

Outside of my problems with the racism in the Life of Pi episode I simply did not meet eye to eye with the hosts of the podcast as far as our tastes in film are concerned. In particular was the dismissive attitude displayed by the hosts towards “art house” films in their Argo episode. I’m not about to make them care about movies like Amour or Shakespeare In Love. Their taste is their own, but when the hosts declared that no one cares about those movies other than snooty types, well, that was a bit too much for me. People do care about those movies, people from all walks of film life, and such a dismissive attitude does a disservice to the film community at large.

Destroy All Movies has been around for some time now, and undoubtedly that means the podcast has its fair share of fans. I’m not one of those people and I won’t be listening to Destroy All Movies beyond these three episodes. I respect that fact that Richie and Jim are putting out a podcast that some people dig on a regular basis. However, I disagreed with the hosts at almost every turn and found their film sensibilities to be t terribly at odds with my film sensibilities. My vote is to unsubscribe from Destroy All Movies.

The Bottom Line

Unsubscribe

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a Reply

