Bill Knows Best Marathon: Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy (Unrated, 2004)

anchorman the legend of ron burgundy

There’s no legend to Bill Thompson, other than maybe my legendary appetite!

Written By: Will Ferrell & Adam McKay
Directed By: Adam McKay

Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy is one of those films that people always say needs repeat viewings. I guess I’m a lucky son of a gun because I was in on the joke from the start. I didn’t see this film in the theaters, but when I popped in the DVD I was instantly in tune with the offbeat humor and over the top gags. That’s not to say that I haven’t watched this Will Ferrell vehicle multiple times, because I have. This is probably the twentieth or so time I’ve seen Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy. Needless to say, I find it funnier every time I watch it and this time was no exception.

What is it exactly about Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy that is so gosh darn funny? It’s willing to go for it, that’s the best explanation I can give. Adam McKay and company employ an all guns emptied approach where they almost literally fire every joke they can think of at the viewer. In doing so this almost ensures that the jokes, or gags, that aren’t that great are quickly glossed over by the jokes, or gags, that are. The throw everything at the viewer approach also feeds into the tempo and pacing of the film. There’s no reflection or time to pause and think. There’s a funny bit, and then another funny bit, and then yet another funny bit.

The humor isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but that’s the way that humor works. One man’s comic goldmine is another man’s trash, and vice-versa. I find Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy to be a comedy goldmine. I laugh from beginning to end of this film, and I laugh as vociferously as I laugh at any other film I can think of. Just about every joke in the film hits for me, whether that be someone dying via a trident or Ron proclaiming how bad of a choice milk is to drink on a hot day. The humor of Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy connects with me in a way that very few comedies can. It’s over the top and lacking in subtlety, but it’s oh so funny.

I’d be remiss in not discussing how intelligently constructed I find the film to be. The humor is smart on its own, but its the characters and the way they are used that truly makes Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy an intelligent comedy. There’s the constant string of jabs against sexism, as well as the nature of the characters as parody or satire. The comedy of Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy may not seem smart on the surface, but it’s very smart in its structure, the subjects it tackles, and the end product it produces.

The adventures of Ron Burgundy remains one of my favorite comedies of all time. Funny, smart, crass, over the top, astute in its observations; those are but a few of the words of praise I willingly bestow upon this film. There’s a reason I’ve watched Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy over twenty times now, and will probably watch it one hundred more times in my lifetime. Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy is one heck of a funny movie, and that makes me beyond happy every single time I pop the DVD into the player.

Rating:

****

Cheers,
Bill

Sarah’s Soapbox

I am frightened to write this, since I did not like Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy and I know that everyone else seems to think it is comedic genius. The movie simply wasn’t very funny at all, and was tolerable at best. I don’t understand what the big deal about this movie is, and why everyone loves it. I feel that it is the most overrated film that I have ever seen, with the jokes being only able to elicit a mild snicker at the most and the storyline being rather pointless. The funniest part of the whole movie was the beginning where it states that the movie is based on a true story but only the people, places, and events have been changed. The best character was the dog, with none of the other characters making much of a connection with me.

I really wanted to like this movie, because my husband loves it so much and even quotes it all the time. I haven’t seen a lot of Will Ferrell’s work, but I loved him in Elf so I hoped that I would find him funny in Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy, but I was disappointed. I get that the movie was supposed to be mocking chauvinist pigs, but the movie did a terrible job of that. The story still ended up being about the stupid guy treating the intelligent girl like crap but having her fall hopelessly in love with him and become a damsel in distress in the end. That plot wouldn’t have bothered me though, if only the jokes were funnier.

Rating:

*

-Sarah

4 responses to “Bill Knows Best Marathon: Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy (Unrated, 2004)

  1. I’m with Sarah on this one. I’ve never liked Will Ferrell’s brand of humor, even when he was on SNL. The over the top, in your face, Hey!!! this shit is funny, don’t you get it kind of performance. For me, he’s always been a one note kind of comedian, he does the same schtick in every comedy film he makes.

  2. I love him, all of his appearances, his commercials, his films, pretty much anything Ferrell does I’m on board.

  3. Still love this, no matter what any of them nay-sayers say! Because lord knows there is plenty of them. Good review.

  4. It’s always going to be a movie I return to throughout the years. Others can dislike it, I’m okay with that, but I don’t ever see it not being a favorite of mine.

Leave a Reply

