Podcast Review: The Good, The Bad, And The Odd

the good, the bad, and the odd

I’m certainly used to being given the odd description myself!

The Good, The Bad, And The Odd

The Gist

The format of The Good, The Bad, And The Odd is that of a review of a movie/s (although this could also be a TV show, video game, or comic book), as well as a what we’ve been watching segment. Hour long episodes are released weekly. Sam and Mark are the two hosts of The Good, The Bad, And The Odd, which has been around for a couple of years.

Episodes Listened To

#115: Jurassic Park Trilogy
#116: Friday the 13th 1, 2, 3
#117: Avatar The Last Airbender Season 1, and Lovecraft: The Call of Cthulu and Shadow over Innsmouth

My Thoughts

I didn’t have any major issues with The Good, The Bad, And The Odd. Both hosts are fine chaps who present a well made podcast that they are clearly putting a lot into. In the most general of terms, I wasn’t left with a bad taste in my mouth when I had finished listening to these three episodes of The Good, The Bad, And The Odd. When the hosts did talk movies I was engaged, but they talked about plenty of other mediums that didn’t interest me as much.

I know I’m going to sound like a neanderthal, but I’m not that into deep discussion of television shows. I enjoy television, there are plenty of TV shows that I think are great works of art. That being said, I do find that for me TV pales next to film. I tried writing about TV once, but I couldn’t muster up the energy to keep doing it because the interest wasn’t there for me. I can watch shows like The Walking Dead, Bones, Firefly, Seinfeld, The Tick, Veronica Mars, Deadwood, etc. and be engaged. They can be great works of art, but I’m not super keen on diving into breakdowns of television shows.

The same holds true for books, video games, and comic books. I enjoy all of those mediums, find great works in all of those mediums, and respect those mediums greatly. But, when it comes to my listening tendencies, I would rather listen to a discussion about a film than I would about a book, comic book, or video game. That’s no slight against the people who produce such podcasts, I applaud their efforts, but I don’t engage with those podcasts the same as I do with film related podcasts.

That should tell you were I stand with The Good, The Bad, And The Odd. It’s a well made podcast, the two hosts were enjoyable to listen to, but the podcast spends just as much time (if not more) on other mediums as it does on film. I wasn’t anywhere as interested in the novel or TV talk as I was in the film talk. That’s why my vote is to unsubscribe from The Good, The Bad, And The Odd. It’s actually a decent podcast, it’s just not the podcast for my sensibilities.

The Bottom Line

Unsubscribe

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a Reply

