Podcast Review: Trick or Treat Radio

trick or treat radio

I almost always end up with a trick instead of a treat!

Trick or Treat Radio

The Gist

Around since late 2012, Trick or Treat Radio is a weekly podcast hosted by the band, The Deadites. Various members of the band appear on the podcast, but the three main hosts of the podcast are Johnny Wolfenstein, Dynamo Marz, and Tiny Wight. Episodes usually clock in a shade over the three hour mark. The premise of the show is that of a casual pop culture discussion. There are various segments, but the basic facts are that every episode features reviews, and discussion, centered around movies, comic books, pro wrestling, music, and a bunch more topics related to pop culture.

Episodes Listened To

#Unknown: 2013 Year End Special
#75: New Years Father’s Day
#76: Bald Bigfoot Bikers

My Thoughts

The episodes of Trick or Treat Radio I listened to really felt their length. Perhaps it’s a sign that I’m getting older, but I felt every second of the three plus hours the episodes lasted. I simply don’t have the energy to listen to a podcast that long on any sort of consistent basis. The hosts seemed to be having a great time during every episode, and that’s a great thing. I didn’t have a bad time per se, but I felt drained by the exorbitantly long run times of every episode.

When it comes right down to it there’s not much done with the content of Trick or Treat Radio. When the hosts get into a topic they do so with energy and verve, and I could appreciate the way they went about discussing pop culture. They didn’t necessarily go too in-depth into any piece of media, but the level of energy they brought made up for any lack of actual critical analysis.

For as much as there’s really not anything wrong with Trick or Treat Radio it’s not really my type of podcast. I enjoyed pro wrestling a ton back in the day, and I’m still a bloke who loves him some comic books. That being said, I don’t really seek out discussion of those two art forms. It’s not that I’m against discussions centered around pro wrestling or comic books, it’s simply that at this time in my life I don’t actively seek out discussions centered around those two things. That’s why even though I believe Trick or Treat Radio does good by pro wrestling, comics, music, and movies, they didn’t bring enough discussion that I was interested in hearing.

Another lukewarm unsubscribe from me, because I don’t have any major issues with Trick or Treat Radio. It wasn’t the podcast for me, but those who are more into pop culture and not just movies will probably get a lot more out of the podcast than I did. Trick or Treat Radio isn’t what I’m looking for at this point in time, but that doesn’t mean it’s a podcast that won’t interest others.

The Bottom Line

Unsubscribe

Cheers,
Bill Thompson

2 responses to “Podcast Review: Trick or Treat Radio

  1. Wow, 3 hours? Ain’t nobody got time for that!

  2. Some people do I guess, but I generally don’t these days.

Leave a Reply

