Podcast Review: Fighting in the War Room

fighting in the war room

Fighting in any room is something I try to steer clear of these days!

Fighting in the War Room

The Gist

The hosts for Fighting in the War Room are Katey Rich, David Ehrlich, Da7e Gonzales, and Matt Patches. They are joined by a guest host on most weeks. This is the old Operation Kino podcast, the only thing that’s different is the name. The format is that every week they release an episode in segments. Said segments usually consist of one with general discussion and one with a review of a new release. Each episode segment is a shade under or over an hour in length. Fighting in the War Room has been around since the end of 2013.

Episodes Listened To

#010: This Bechdel Test Podcast Doesn’t Pass It
#Unknown: Review- ReviewBoCop: Buy For Dollar? Much Wow
#011: Scatological Meta Commentaries and Meta Scatological Commentary

My Thoughts

Things haven’t changed much since Operation Kino, and that means I make it a point to listen to Fighting in the War Room every week. The main draw for me is the depth of the discussions the hosts engage in. When they talked about the Bechdel Test, they didn’t just look at whether it’s a good or bad test. They looked at how it is being applied, the ways in which it can’t properly gauge a film, and how it should be used within the industry. I enjoy that the hosts are willing to go deep in their discussions because that’s what I’m looking for in the podcasts I subscribe to.

Another appealing factor of Fighting in the War Room is the camaraderie of the hosts. It’s clear that they have been doing a podcast together for a long time. The various guest hosts that appear on the podcast also add much to each weeks discussion. This leads to Katey Rich’s strength in guiding most of the discussions. I tend to enjoy the discourse more when she is the driving force behind the topic. She comes at the topics in a way that I find interesting and she’s very good at working to the strengths of her co-hosts.

All of the above being said, I do sometimes roll my eyes at David Ehrlich or Matt Patches. Maybe it’s just me, but I get the impression that they seek out problems within movies. They come across like the type of critic, or cinephile, who can never be satisfied by any movie put in front of them. I know this isn’t the case because I’ve heard them be very satisfied with a film, but sometimes their negativity is a downer in an oppressive fashion. Perhaps it’s that I disagree with them more than Miss Rich or Da7e Gonzales. I did after all write an entire article about how wrong I felt Misters Patches and Ehrlich are when it came to the issue of the content available on movie streaming sites. Either way, I still enjoy what Misters Patches and Ehrlich bring to the table, and I respect their opinions, but sometimes I do need to take breaks from their negativity.

My vote is to subscribe to Fighting in the War Room. I have some small issues with the podcast, but it’s still one of the best film related podcasts on the market. That should speak to the high quality discussions that Fighting in the War Room brings to the table. If a cinephile really wants to engage their cinematic brain, expand their cinematic language, and enjoy themselves while listening to others discuss movies then they need to be listening to Fighting in the War Room.

The Bottom Line

Subscribe

Cheers,
Bill Thompson

2 responses to “Podcast Review: Fighting in the War Room

  1. Not really a fan of Patches or Ehrlich either. Stopped listening to Operation Kino when they got in a tizzy about the African American centric marketing campaigns for movies such as Think Like A Man. As an African American, I don’t refuse to see a Woody Allen movie because it wasn’t promoted on BET. I’m not accusing them of racism, but they came across very snobbish and off putting because their white male sensibilities were only catered to 96% of the time..

    I recall one host’s idea to resolve this issue was to have Kevin Hart and Seth Rogen team up for a movie and call it a day. It reminded me of the disconnect I feel with the Sunday political news shows where four millionaire pundits gather to talk about poverty or health care. That episode of Kino was screaming for a different perspective to discuss that issue. I’m glad you singled them out because they’re a big reason why I don’t listen to that show or a number of other film podcasts.

  2. Your take is certainly valid, and appreciated. There’s no guarantee the podcasts I like will work for others, or vice-versa, and the differing opinions, or even slight disagreements, are always welcome.

Leave a Reply

