Review: I Was A Male War Bride (1949)

grant-bride

Cary Grant has more than enough charm to pass himself off as a woman, I firmly believe this!

Screenplay By: Charles Lederer, Leonard Spigelgass & Hagar Wilde
Directed By: Howard Hawks

The laughs present in I Was A Male War Bride are understated and the performances are low key. That type of comedy won’t reach the heights of truly great comedies most of the time, but that doesn’t mean the movie isn’t darn funny. There were only a handful of moments in I Was A Male War Bride where I was overtaken by laughter, but throughout the film I was constantly chuckling at one thing or another. I Was A Male War Bride is consistently funny, if not uproariously so.

Cary Grant has two ways he usually goes in his comedic roles, he either hams it up to the nth degree, or he plays his role straight and more restrained. He went for the latter in I Was A Male War Bride and that is the Grant I prefer. He has moments where he opens up his performance a bit and they are funny because the movie isn’t scene after scene of Grant overdoing it for the camera. When he does supply a double take or a great facial moment, it’s funnier because it isn’t the norm. Ann Sheridan also plays her role rather straight, but there is a toughness to her character that isn’t seen in most comic actresses around this time. She’s funny, but there’s also an air of kick ass about her that is fun to take in.

There aren’t any real negatives to say about I Was A Male War Bride. It’s a funny film with some interesting characters and scenarios. There are some moments that aren’t quite “there” on a comedic level and it’s a film that never strives to be anything other than a fun hour and a half of enjoyment. There is also some unevenness between the first half and the second half comedy wise, I much preferred the first half. But, even then the second half is funny enough to not be any sort of detriment, juts a bit lesser than the first half.

If you are looking for a fun movie that will provide plenty of consistent laughs then you can’t go wrong with I Was A Male War Bride. It’s not the best Howard Hawks or the best comedy you will find, but not every movie you watch has to be the best, know what I mean? I Was A Male War Bride is a fun little romp, an enjoyable watch and who doesn’t want to see Cary Grant in drag?

Rating:

***

Cheers,
Bill

3 responses to “Review: I Was A Male War Bride (1949)

  1. I don’t watch so much this old movies… I don’t find them… but is always nice to read something about them 🙂 Nice job 😀
    http://0daypress.wordpress.com/

  2. Thanks for the comment.

  3. Pingback: Postulating & Pontificating: Streaming Wasteland! | Bill's Movie Emporium

Leave a comment