Rambo Marathon: Rebuttal: Rambo III (1988)

The rebuttals in the Rambo Marathon have been hard, like really hard man!

To properly understand the context of this rebuttal go check out Edgar’s review for Rambo III over at Between The Seats.

Edgar, my slippery Canadian friend, the problem with the Rambo Marathon that you and I have embarked upon is that we agree, all the time. Sure, there are little disagreements here and there, but on the whole we agree more often than not and in terms of the quality of the films up until this point we have been in complete agreement. That doesn’t leave a whole heck of a lot to rebut, and thus you have been spared the tip of a special Canadians only explosive arrow from my quiver. Sadly, I do not think Rambo III is the film that will bring us to any sort of major disagreement, but I suppose there’s always the hope of extreme disagreement when we get to Rambo, we shall see, we shall see.

On the Rambo III front, we’re obviously on the same page when it comes to quality. We see eye to eye when it comes to the cheesy goodness, the surprisingly well directed action scenes, and all the fun that can be had with the film. That’s all well and good between friends, but that doesn’t do much for our readers. A nonstop stream of agreement certainly won’t excite the people who are following along with this marathon, at least I don’t think it will excite the masses. That’s why I’m happy to say we are not in complete agreement about one aspect of Rambo III, the heart you believe exists in the film.

I agree that there are moments where attempts are made to infuse the film with heart, and I like those moments. But, I don’t like those moments for the same reasons you do. I like those moments because they make the film even cheesier and I really dug how willing the film was to go with acknowledging how inherently cheesy it is. I think we’re simply coming at those heartfelt moments from a different place. Where you see true heart and emotion, I see the film mocking its own attempts at typical action movie heartfelt moments. You see a kid who serves a deep purpose and I see a kid who is all on the surface, he’s all cheese and the movie plays around with that. It’s cool though, you are wrong, a lot, so I’m sure this is nothing new to you, at least when it comes to facing me and my explosive tipped arrows.

A small debate for sure, well perhaps debate is the wrong word, when it’s a one sided beat down such as the one I just delivered it’s not really a debate is it? I’m sorry I had to bloody you up Edgar, but them be the breaks from time to time, you’re Canadian, you should know this already. Like I said, maybe we’ll disagree on all or a few aspects of Rambo and you’ll have a chance to redeem yourself. But, I wouldn’t count on that because we often agree, and even if we don’t, you’ve experienced first hand what happens when we do go head to waistline and it certainly wasn’t the sort of encounter that allows you to get all gussied up and go to the prom afterwords now was it? Well, I’m rambling now, as I am wont to do, and let’s be honest, I’m not making a whole lot of sense, so Edgar, I bid you adieu and I’ll see you on the battlefield when next we shall meet for Rambo.

But that’s not all the Rambo III action there is, go and read Edgar’s rebuttal to my Rambo III review at his blog, Between The Seats.

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a comment