30 Day Film Challenge: Day 17 – Your Favorite Drama Film: The Godfather (1972)

It’s a tried and true pick, but sometimes tried ad true also means honest!

Day 17 – Your Favorite Drama Film

The Godfather (1972, Francis Ford Coppola)

A lot has been written about Francis Ford Coppola’s master work, so much so in fact that my paragraph will add nothing to the movie. Still, The Godfather is highly dramatic, and it’s effective in its melodrama. That’s something I didn’t come to grips with until my most recent viewing of The Godfather, it works so well as a film because it accepts how much of a trashy melodramatic soap opera it actually is. Yes, there are quiet and subtle moments of drama, but there are also many moments of drama that call attention to how dramatic they are trying to be. The Godfather is melodramatic, it does want its audience to know how dramatic it is, yet it still succeeds at every turn, that’s some great film making.

Cheers,
Bill

4 responses to “30 Day Film Challenge: Day 17 – Your Favorite Drama Film: The Godfather (1972)

  1. Mark Middlemas

    Perfect. I am still on the fence as to whether Part 1 or Part 2 is the better film…consequently, I just try to watch them consecutively with occasional bathroom breaks.

  2. I prefer Part 1, the dual narrative structure of Part 2 takes something away from the film, I think. I still think Part 2 is great, but it’s nowhere near the level of Part 1, and luckily I still haven’t seen Part 3, although it is inching closer and closer in my queue.

  3. don’t watch Part 3! i did it recently. it is abominable. incredible that it is the same director.

  4. I’ll still be watching it at some point I think.

Leave a comment