30 Day Film Challenge: Day 25 – Your Favorite Documentary Film: Grizzly Man (2005)

Oh, this category, yikes!

Day 25 – Your Favorite Documentary Film

Grizzly Man (2005, Werner Herzog)

I’m not a fan of documentaries, there have only been a handful I’ve seen in my whole life that I’ve actually thought were a combination of well made and unbiased enough for me to like them. One such documentary is Grizzly Man, but I will admit that Grizzly Man has an inside track as far as documentaries are concerned. It’s director, Werner Herzog, is one of my all time favorites. What gets me about Grizzly Man is how uncompromising Mr. Herzog is in presenting the clash of his opinions against those of Timothy Treadwell. Neither man sees eye to eye about nature, and Mr. Herzog emphasizes this while still presenting a compelling story. The end result of Grizzly Man is never in question, but the film isn’t about any end result, it’s about two different philosophies on nature, watching them crash into one another is splendid.

Cheers,
Bill

2 responses to “30 Day Film Challenge: Day 25 – Your Favorite Documentary Film: Grizzly Man (2005)

  1. This is my favorite film by Herzog. Not my most favorite documentary– I suspect I’ve seen more of them than you, Bill– but one of my favorites. A well told life is hard to find.

  2. This is the only Herzog documentary I’ve seen, so you most likely have seen more than me. I’m not a big fan of documentaries but I liked the way Herzog went about this one, I’m definitely interested in seeing more of his docs.

Leave a comment