30 Day Film Challenge: Day 29 – Your Favorite Film As A Kid: Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988)

Not choosing a horror movie for this category was really, really hard!

Day 29 – Your Favorite Film As A Kid

Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988, Robert Zemeckis)

I watched a wide variety of films as a kid, I wasn’t your typical Disney kid by any means. I grew up on a healthy diet of horror, thrillers, classics and Disney from a very young age. In more ways than one I know that this helped to form my cinematic tastes. I also know that it allowed me to better appreciate the movies I was actually supposed to be watching at that age, the animated and family friendly fare. That’s why I knew I was watching something special when I first watched Who Framed Roger Rabbit. Don’t get your panties in a twist, I didn’t get the noir aspects or the deeper meanings of a film at the young age of eight or nine. I did, however, understand that Who Framed Roger Rabbit was trying for something different, it was taking the more adult themes of the best of Disney animation and going even more adult with them. I didn’t know why at the time, but I loved the movie for doing that and it’s willingness to stay slapstick at the same time. Who Framed Roger Rabbit has changed in my eyes over the years, I get more of what the film was going for, but I still retain the childlike sense of awesomeness that I felt for Who Framed Roger Rabbit when I first watched it, and that is a great feeling, a great feeling indeed.

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a comment