This Week In Cinema: November 04-10, 2012

This movie caused my daughter to say she wanted to wreck things, how she thought this was any different than her normal behavior I have no idea!

Two animated films this week,

Paperman (2012, John Kahrs, United States Of America) ***1/2

I really do hope that Disney acknowledges the debt they owe to the 2008 Australian short Signs. The basic idea behind Paperman along with the first two minutes are lifted wholesale from that short. However, as it goes along Paperman becomes its own beast, and a wondrous beast at that. The animation is lovely, evoking an Anime feel as well as a washed out 1950s aesthetic. At its core Paperman is two things, a finely put together romantic tale and a reaction to Mad Men. I know the second part of the previous sentence sounds crazy, but hear me out. Mad Men has created this image that business is king, that love is dead, and the sale and meeting the bottom line are all that matters. I don’t believe that Mad Men says the way its characters act is the right thing, but I do think Paperman presents a love story this is in direct contrast to the world we are given in Mad Men. It helps that Paperman is gorgeous and whimsical, but it’s quite deep as well.

Wreck-It Ralph (2012, Rich Moore, United States Of America) ****

I’m not going to write much here as I plan on giving Wreck-It Ralph the full review treatment when it’s released on BD/DVD. What I will tell everyone is that this movie is pretty damn awesome. It’s visually inventive and creative in ways that very few movies manage to be. The story is straightforward, but it’s straightforward in an earnest and heartfelt way that reeks of sincerity. I loved all the nods to the video games of my youth, I dug the voice acting, and I was a fan of the direction. This film belongs in the upper echelon of Disney animated features, and that is high praise indeed.

Wrap-Up:

Both movies this week were strong films of a high quality. However, Wreck-It Ralph is a special film and Paperman can’t quite compete with the special qualities of Rich Moore’s film. Movie of the week honors go to Wreck-It Ralph. Until next week, watch more movies!

Cheers,
Bill

One response to “This Week In Cinema: November 04-10, 2012

  1. Pingback: Disney Animated Marathon: Wreck-It Ralph (2012) | Bill's Movie Emporium

Leave a comment