30 Day Film Challenge: Day 3 – A Film You Watch To Feel Good: Tonari No Totoro (My Neighbor Totoro, 1988)

I like feeling good, you like feeling good, let’s be honest, everyone likes feeling good!

Day 3 – A Film You Watch To Feel Good

Tonari No Totoro (My Neighbor Totoro, 1988, Hayao Miyazaki)

When Iā€™m feeling down, or when I simply want to feel good while watching a movie I almost always turn to this classic from Hayao Miyazaki. Tonari No Totoro is such a simple film, yet in its simplicity there is great depth. The simplistic emotions that the film brings out in me are always gratifying and they always enliven my spirits. The more I think about the movie the bigger the smile is on my face. Then I realize the true depth that Mr. Miyazaki has brought forth in Tonari No Totoro and I have an even bigger smile on my face. Tonari No Totoro is sweet, it is charming, it is uplifting, it is simple, it is deep, it is a movie that always makes me feel great.

Cheers,
Bill

6 responses to “30 Day Film Challenge: Day 3 – A Film You Watch To Feel Good: Tonari No Totoro (My Neighbor Totoro, 1988)

  1. Yep – love it! šŸ™‚

  2. Yea, Bill! I’ve only seen Totoro once, but I’ll bet I’m going to agree with you about it being a great “feel good” film.

  3. Melissa: Yep, I love it too šŸ™‚

    Steve: You need to see it more then, it’s probably the simplest of Miyazaki’s works, but he somehow manages to tap into a deep emotional core through that simplicity. So hurry up and see it again so you can feel good. šŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for mr Miyazaki and Ghibli studio, I have a meaningful childhood. Tonari no totoro is simple but it brings a lot of deep emotion and messages.

  5. Indeed the simplicity of Totoro is it’s greatest strength, because through said simplicity Miyazaki-san is able to explore very deep emotions and deliver a rich message.

  6. Pingback: Retro Week In Cinema: August 22-28, 2013 | Bill's Movie Emporium

Leave a comment