30 Day Film Challenge: Day 4 – A Film You Watch To Feel Down: Hotaru No Haka (Grave Of The Fireflies, 1988)

A film that is certifiably guaranteed to cause rain to spill forth from thine eyes!

Day 4 – A Film You Watch To Feel Down

Hotaru No Haka (Grave Of The Fireflies, 1988, Isao Takahata)

I can’t say that I ever watch a movie to feel depressed or to bring my spirits down. Maybe this is an odd notion to most, but I don’t seek out movies to bring me down, real life does that more than enough. But, I will provide an answer to the question in the form of a movie that brings me down something harsh. Hotaru No Haka is a devastating experience, the first film I ever saw that made me think of the concept of beautiful ugliness. Hotaru No Haka is a wonderfully animated film, but watching the harshness that the children in the film face brings to life the true ugliness of humanity. I always feel depressed when I watch Hotaru No Haka, far more than when I watch any other movie. This is a movie that gets to me deep in my gut like no other movie has ever been able to, so beautifully ugly.

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a comment