30 Day Film Challenge: Day 18 – Your Favorite Comedy Film: The General (1926)

A man with a stoic face provides the biggest laughs!

Day 18 – Your Favorite Comedy Film

The General (1926, Clyde Bruckman & Buster Keaton)

That train keeps a rolling and Buster Keaton keeps the same stoic look on his face, while I keep laughing. The General is my favorite comedy of all time because it is every kind of funny, it’s loud and obnoxious, quiet and reserved, physical, laugh out loud, insert your brand of comedy here and it is most likely found in The General. It all comes back to Buster Keaton though, and that always stoic mug of his. No matter what happens around him Keaton’s face remains the same and the lack of reaction he shows to what happens around him is the funniest aspect of The General. Listen, I laugh, and laugh, and laugh when I watch The General, and that’s what makes a great comedy in these here eyes.

Cheers,
Bill

6 responses to “30 Day Film Challenge: Day 18 – Your Favorite Comedy Film: The General (1926)

  1. Bill, you’ve convinced me. This needs to go on my list of shame. Looking forward to some laughs!

  2. Love this movie! Keaton’s athleticism is incredible. And his face fascinates me. I really need to catch up with more of his films.

  3. Sandy: Great to hear, I’m sure you’ll love it!

    Melissa: The more I watch from him the more I’m convinced that Keaton may be the best comic performer the screen has ever seen. Everything he does is so natural and without effort, and his comedic timing is unbelievable.

  4. Great pick. It wasn’t a LOL comedy for me, but I enjoyed it so much. The stunts were amazing. I’m looking forward to seeing it again.

  5. Keaton’s stunts are something special. I look forward to watching it with my wife for the first time sometime soon. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Bill Knows Best Marathon: The General (1926) | Bill's Movie Emporium

Leave a comment