This Week In Cinema: June 10-16, 2012

Ah, the glory days of my youth!

Only two movies again this week, my life is still super busy,

Imagine That (2009, Karey Kirkpatrick, Germany/United States Of America) **

Fairly innocuous and sometimes charming, but Imagine That is just like so many movies of its ilk that have come before. I’ve seen this story before, I’ve seen these characters, and I’ve had the very same heartfelt sentimentality offered to me many times over. There are some funny moments, and as I said it is a charming film, but Imagine That is very much lacking in the imagination department.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1990, Steve Barron, Hong Kong/United States Of America) ***1/2

I must have watched this film at least a hundred times as a youngster. I remember wearing an old VHS copy of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles down to dust. Coming back to the film all these years later I can more readily see all the flaws, but I’ll be damned if I didn’t have a hell of a time watching this. As far as cheesy out there martial arts movies go I think Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles just about gets it all right. The jokes are wonderfully corny, there’s a darkness to the film that is appealing, and all the characters are intriguing, even if they do lack any large amount of fleshing out. Some will say nostalgia, but I say I still had a great time.

Wrap-Up:

With there only being two movies this week, and with one of those movies not being very good I think the end result is fairly obvious. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles takes home movie of the week honors. Util next week, watch more movies!

Cheers,
Bill

4 responses to “This Week In Cinema: June 10-16, 2012

  1. I still love that “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” movie. I was a fan of the show.

    Did you see a young Sam Rockwell in that movie?

  2. Yep, noticed him, his slicked back hair, and his toothpick right away.

  3. As a kid I remember feeling pretty grown-up when I watched TMNT because they said “damn”.

    Oh what innocent times. 🙂

  4. I remember loving the comic book as a kid, and it was super dark, quickly helped get rid of lots of my innocence. 🙂

Leave a comment