Star Wars Marathon: Rebuttal: Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge Of The Sith (2005)

I can promise you one thing in this, the latest edition of the Star Wars Marathon, it is Edgar, and not I who will end up getting burned!

I forgot to do this last time because, well, I’m an idiot. But, make sure to check out Edgar’s review of Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge Of The Sith over at Between The Seats before you read what follows, otherwise you’ll have no idea what I’m talking about.

Wow, I am literally speechless. Well, I’m still going to write a bunch of malarkey, but I have read your review four times now Edgar, and no matter how hard I try I can’t find a single place where I disagree with you. I know this isn’t good for the actual rebuttal portion of our joint marathon, but if our rebuttals are less than stellar because we agreed instead of dissented then I have no problem with that. Whether it’s what you said about Lucas’ direction in this film, the quickness of Anakin’s turn, the ferocity of the final stretch or the idiocy of the Jedi, I agree wholeheartedly. Who would have thought that two people with relatively strong opinions would agree completely, at least in terms of what you wrote, about a Star Wars film of all films, and in a positive way no less?

I’m actually pretty darn happy that you liked Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge Of The Sith a lot. Sure, a rebuttal full of disagreements and jokey name calling would have been more fun to read, but the Star Wars fan in me is more happy with the fact that you really liked the film in question. Not only that, but you gave me a few things to think about, and honestly that’s been one of my favorite aspects of these reviews.

It’s no secret that I am very much an anti-George Lucas guy, yet when you talked about his directorial style it suddenly clicked for me that a major reason I love Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge Of The Sith is because of the corpulent one’s direction. All these years I had allowed my dislike of a single man to blind me to what he does in this film to make it that much better. Staying on faces for a few seconds longer, how the long, almost plaintive takes create even more mood in the picture. Lucas was really on the top of his game in terms of direction in Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge Of The Sith, so much so that I would go so far as to say it is easily the best film he was ever behind the camera for.

One thing you touched on that has always been a strident point of mine is the rigid and nonsensical beliefs and actions of the Jedi. I’m not going to go into great detail about that here, there are more Expanded Universe sources that I feel are better avenues for this discussion, but I couldn’t agree with you more. Most Star Wars fans disagree with me, most do so violently as well, but the points you make illustrate perfectly why I have never been a fan of the Jedi and why I can never get behind their way of life or how they choose to view the Force.

I know this rebuttal wasn’t that long, or confrontational in any way, but this is what happens when I am in complete agreement with your take on the film. Maybe you’ll disagree with a few of my points, but either way it was a joy to read your review and finally hear from someone who enjoyed Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge Of The Sith as much as I did. Your ability to vocalize, or typealize, the sound reasons for your thoughts was a refreshing change of pace from the usual “it’s great”, “it sucks, you’re a moron,” exchanges that I am subject to when talking about Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge Of The Sith. But, remember, even when we agree I can still call it like I see it and let the world know just how much of a jerkface you really are, jerkface.

You can read Edgar’s rebuttal at Between The Seats.

Cheers,
Bill

3 responses to “Star Wars Marathon: Rebuttal: Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge Of The Sith (2005)

  1. edgar chaput

    Rebuttal Sunday ended up being happy happy fun time Sunday.

    I tried to pick some bones of contention in my rebuttal article, but the points I tackle are minor issues that in no way detracted from my enjoyment of the film.

    I think one fo the reasons why people loathed the prequal trilogy was similar to the reason why many always complain how a novel was superior to the cinematic translation of the same story: it was better in their imaginations. The classic trilogy spoke of a time when the Jedi were the sherifs in town and protected the innocent. The classic trilogy also spoke of an infamous Clone War that destroyed the olf republic. Finally the classic trilogy spoke of a great friendship between Obi-Wan and Anakin and how the lattter betrayed the jedi. The prequel trilogy gave us all that, but added some unforseen layers to it all (the clone war was but the result of slimy political manoeuvering, the jedi are really pretty stupid on certain topics and hence their destruction, and finally the semi buddy/semi strained relantionship between obi-Wan and Anakin as well as the latter inability to control his emotions). It just wasn’t what the people wanted.

    I think they wanted a more black and white version of what led to the classic trilogy, sort of like how the classic trilogy has a more black and white tone to it.

  2. Yea, Jedi are so stupid. I’ve can’t even read the expanded universe books with Jedi as main characters because their whole belief system is so dumb that I can’t stand it in the written form.

  3. Edgar – Great thoughts all around.

    James – I’m able to deal with it in written form, but they do piss me off something fierce.

Leave a comment