Podcast Review: Slate’s Culture Gabfest

slate's culture gabfest

A heck of a lot of gabbing abut a heck of a lot of culture!

Slate’s Culture Gabfest

The Gist

Stephen Metcalf, Dana Stevens, and June Thomas are the three hosts of Slate’s Culture Gabfest. Each week the hosts discuss a variety of topics in popular culture during a forty five minute, or so, episode. Slate’s Culture Gabfest has been around for a few years now, and it is a member of the Slate Magazine family of podcasts.

Episodes Listened To

#Unknown: The Culture Gabfest: Pop Rocks in a Fanny Pack Edition
#Unknown: The Culture Gabfest: The Mason-Dixon Needs Some Fixin’ Edition
#Unknown: The Culture Gabfest: A Rhythm of Liquids Edition

My Thoughts

There wasn’t a lot of film talk to be found on Slate’s Culture Gabfest. But, the film talk that could be found on the podcast was very interesting. However, I didn’t find the other topics broached to be of much interest to me as an individual. Maybe that means I’m not that cultured, but when it comes to Brad Paisley or how the British define social class, I’m just fine with not being cultured. This left me at an impasse when it came to Slate’s Culture Gabfest, because while I enjoyed the film discussions I didn’t enjoy the rest of the podcast.

I simply have no interest in popular culture on the whole. That led to me zoning out of a lot of the discussions on Slate’s Culture Gabfest. Dana Steven, June Thomas, and Stephen Metcalf are intelligent and well spoken individuals. They are also well versed in popular culture and the issues that matter to those who care about social status and what’s trending in the world at large. To be frank, I don’t have any time for the non-film issues discussed on the podcast. Take Bitcoins, or the idea of digital money. I don’t want to, nor do I need to, hear about that issue. I respect the fact that others care, and that the hosts discuss Bitcoins in a highly intelligent manner. With my interest in that topic, and most topics on the podcast, being zilch, that leaves me with very little to latch onto when it comes to Slate’s Culture Gabfest.

This is a column about film related podcasts. Slate’s Culture Gabfest does contain a small amount of film related discussion. I enjoyed those discussions, but film related discussion is not the majority of content on the podcast. Even if I had loved Slate’s Culture Gabfest my vote would have been to unsubscribe. I started this column to let my readers know what film related podcasts were worth making the time for. I can’t recommend Slate’s Culture Gabfest as a film related podcast, and as a podcast in general the talk of culture did nothing to keep me listening episode after episode.

The Bottom Line

Unsubscribe

Cheers,
Bill

Leave a comment