This Week In Cinema: June 05-11, 2011

I would be seriously concerned if Denis Leary were the leader of my revolutionary forces!

Only a few movies this week, but I liked all of them, yay!

Lemony Snicket’s A Series Of Unfortunate Events (2004, Brad Silberling, Germany/United States Of America) ***

There’s a lot of imagination on display in this film, and I do love imagination. The world of this film is utterly fake and I actually like that, the cinematography has an under construction look to it and every set appears to be some sort of plastic or cheap mold. Lemony Snicket’s A Series Of Unfortunate Events certainly has its own look, and I liked the eeriness of all the different fake trappings that could be found in the films look. That being said, Jim Carrey was a bit too Jim Carrey, the story was a letdown as nothing is really resolved, and outside of a healthy helping of quirk there wasn’t a whole lot in the narrative that I latched on to. The imagination was grand though, and I loved the look, plus I was entertained for the most part.

Harry And The Hendersons (1987, William Dear, United States Of America) ***

It’s stupid and very silly, but it’s also charming and John Lithgow is a hoot. When Harry is off screen the film really does lag, and unfortunately he’s off screen too much. Still, the movie is charming and while it may have been heavy handed I connected with the pro-nature/anti-hunting message of the film. Cute and charming, a few laughs, John Lithgow being all Lithgow, that’s enough to entertain me.

Demolition Man (1993, Marco Brambilla, United States Of America) ***

I had forgotten how enjoyable this movie is, it’s all the over the top cheese that I love about late 80s and early 90s action movies. Demolition Man works best as a semi satirical over the top action movie, and I’m convinced that’s what it ended up being. Even the usually worried about his tough guy image Sylvester Stallone is in on the act, I can’t recall the last time he allowed himself to be made fun of so easily and to look so foolish. Sandra Bullock is as cute as a button and very funny to boot. The action is well done, it’s super explodey, yeah I said explodey, and oh so loud. Demolition Man is a lot of fun, I can even see myself liking it more upon future viewings. But I’ll be damned if one of the techs in the San Angeles police headquarters wasn’t a young Christian Bale, it had to be, it looked just like him! Whatever, ignore my foolishness, fun movie, that’s what I’m going out on.

Wrap-Up:

Far less movies this week, but that means no more burnout and more quality for you! Seriously though, I did cut back on the movies I watched. None of these movies were expiring, I chose to watch them, I didn’t feel like I was being forced to, and I think that translates to moi having better thoughts for all of you on the films I watch. As far as the films themselves are concerned, I liked all three. But, Demolition Man was easily the best of the three, it’s such a fun movie, it’s possibly a hidden gem as well, but I’m not sure where the film has fallen in the minds of film buffs. Either way, fun week for movies, and I no longer feel burned out, it’s all onward and upwards my friends.

Cheers,
Bill

5 responses to “This Week In Cinema: June 05-11, 2011

  1. I totally agree about Demolition Man. It’s been a while since I’ve seen it, but just seeing Snipes’ smiling face brought me back to the fun of this movie. Like you say in your comments, Stallone tends to take himself too seriously, even in silly action movies like Judge Dredd. For this one, he actually had some fun and it helps the movie have a light feeling that it desperately needs.

  2. I love “Demolition Man”. I don’t care how cheesy it is. The concept alone and the whole cast makes the movie for me. It’s funny, it’s got great one-liners, and amazing action sequences. What more could you ask? I could watch this movie all day.

  3. Demolition man is totally one of the greatest movies ever.

  4. Glad to read that you all dig Demolition Man just as much as I did 🙂

  5. Pingback: Podcast Review: The MacGuffin Men | Bill's Movie Emporium

Leave a comment