30 Day Film Challenge: Day 7 – A Film That Reminds You Of Your Past: Halloween (1978)

The past is dangerous, especially when you have a memory as bad as mine!

Day 7 – A Film That Reminds You Of Your Past

Halloween (1978, John Carpenter)

For starters, I still consider Halloween one of the finest movies ever made. It ties into my past because of the way it helped shape my view of film. I wrote about this previously, but there was a time when I decided that Halloween was an adolescent jaunt, something to be flung to the side as I moved from movies and into the serious world of cinema. After a few years spent only watching what other people told me was serious cinema I put Halloween into the VCR player and watched it as a challenge. Halloween was not a serious film and this viewing would confirm that I was right in my dismissal of all movies that weren’t serious cinema. I was an idiot, and Halloween showed me the light. It was just as excellent, suspenseful, and well made on that viewing as it had been on all the others. Halloween reminds me of my past because it reminds me of a time when I was close minded in what movies I watched and gave the time of day to. Movies can be great period, and I would put Halloween up against any movie the world has ever seen, my past has taught me that.

Cheers,
Bill

One response to “30 Day Film Challenge: Day 7 – A Film That Reminds You Of Your Past: Halloween (1978)

  1. Pingback: This Week In Cinema: April 28-May 04, 2013 | Bill's Movie Emporium

Leave a comment