This Week in Cinema: September 14-20, 2014

the battery

I do love me some baseball!

Again with the one movie approach this week,

The Battery (2012, Jeremy Gardner, United States of America) **1/2

The Battery starts off with a strong baseball as life meta analysis. Specifically the film explores the relationship between pitcher and catcher, and how their on the field roles are but extension of their personalities. When Jeremy Gardner’s film is exploring those aspects it is at its strongest. Unfortunately the film does suffer from some uninspired zombie choices, a few story routes that add nothing but shock value, and an ultimately unsatisfying story in general. The Battery had lots of potential, and initially I was fully on board. However, as the movie progressed I had less and less vested interest in the narrative of the film, until when it ended I was left thinking, “Well, that was a movie, a movie I just watched.”

Wrap-Up:

Only one movie this week means that The Battery takes home movie of the week honors. Until next week, watch more movies!

Cheers,
Bill Thompson

Leave a comment